The doctors of tomorrow, today.

The Professional Association of Internes and Residents of Saskatchewan (PAIRS) is the official voice of resident doctors training in Saskatchewan. Governed by an elected Board of Directors, PAIRS advocates for residency training and education in the province, and is the official bargaining association for the resident collective agreement.
Residents bring fresh ideas to the health care system based on their current training and front line experience. In most major hospitals, a resident is the first physician a patient encounters when seeking care and often the last face the patient sees on discharge. PAIRS members are post-graduate residents doctors training for certification by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (RCPSC) or the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) in one of their recognized specialty or sub-specialty programs.


Announcing the winners of the

2016 Dr. Brad Ardell Spirit Award:  

Melissa Andersen & Tamara Tsang 

Each year, residents and staff have an opportunity to nominate individuals for the Dr. Brad Ardell Spirit Award, in recognition of residents who exhibit characteristics of a “true prairie spirit”: dependability, selflessness and compassion. They exemplify integrity, empathy and care to all. They treat every day as a challenge, an opportunity for accomplishment and achievement, and are innovative and creative thinkers.

This year’s nominations included two equally deserving candidates, and as a result, the Awards Committee chose two winners: Melissa Andersen, a third-year Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation resident, and Tamara Tsang, a first-year Family Medicine resident.  Their awards will be presented at the PAIRS New Year’s Gala on January 21.   

Congratulations to both Melissa and Tamara on this well-deserved honour!



Nominate a Resident for the Dr. Brad Ardell Spirit Award

Nominations close November 6, 2016

This award was created in 2008 in memory of orthopaedic surgery resident Dr. Brad Ardell. Residents, faculty and support staff are encouraged to nominate a resident who best embodies Dr. Ardell’s characteristics of hard work, compassion and empathy in clinical practice.

Nominations must include:

  • Nomination form (available by clicking the button below)
  • A brief essay describing how your nominee meets the award criteria
  • Submission to by November 6, 2016

The award will be presented at the 2017 PAIRS New Year’s Gala.

Nomination Form



Apply Now For Vacant Board of Directors Positions

Two positions on the Board of Directors remain unfilled: one Faculty Council Representative and one Wellness Representative.

If you are interested in applying for one of these positions, please send your CV to As per our bylaws, the PAIRS office will remove the names from the CV’s to maintain confidentiality and forward them to the Board Executive for review. The Executive team will then vote to select the winners.

Application deadline is Sunday, September 11 at midnight.



The Votes Are In!

PAIRS Board of Directors 2016 – 2017 

Executive Board Members

President Jonathan Dean
Vice President Matthew Nicholson
Past President Amanda Kleisinger
Secretary Treasurer Guillaume Leclair
Chief Negotiator Aaron Daters
Assistant Negotiator Taylor Bereti
Member at Large Crystal Burant
Member at Large Mark Elliott
Member at Large Rochelle Jalbert

Board Members

Faculty Council Rep Mowad Benguzzi
Faculty Council Rep Sarah Schmid
Faculty Council Rep Zane Tymchak
Faculty Council Rep (open)
PGME Committee Representative Daniel Altman
PGME Committee Representative Matthew Baranyi
PGY1 Representative Haven Roy
SaskDocs Representative Raza Naqvi
SHR Practitioner Advisory Committee Joshua Nero
SMA Representative – Board & RA Neil Kalra
SMA Representative – CORRP, SR&R Chelsea Wilgenbusch
Wellness Representative Kayla Flood
Wellness Representative (open)

Call for Nominations now open!

PAIRS Logo (2)Nominations are now being invited for the 2016-2017 PAIRS Board of Directors.  Nominate yourself or someone else by sending an email to Deadline is Monday, August 29 at 5:30pm.  Voting will take place at the AGM on Wednesday, August 31 beginning at 5:30pm.  For more information on board positions, please click here.

For an updated list of nominees, please click here.



Welcome to PAIRS!

PAIRS Logo (2)

A warm welcome to all our new residents!

We hope you are enjoying your first day!  As mentioned this morning, please consult the PAIRS Orientation Newsletter for important information by clicking here.


You may also be interested in the PGME Resident Handbook, found here.


And don’t forget to follow us on Twitter ( and/or to like us on Facebook to be entered in a draw for a Starbucks card!  Deadline is Sunday, July 10th at midnight.  Good luck!




Congratulations to the 2016 PAIRS Excellence in Teaching Award Winners!

Logo without words - Use ThisExcellence

Each year, residents have the opportunity to nominate individuals who have demonstrated exceptional skill in delivering resident education.  Nominees are judged on a number of criteria, including their quality of teaching, patient care, teaching initiatives and originality, and their attention to residents’ personal and professional development.

The 2016 Awards Committee is pleased to announce this year’s winners:

Dr. Gordie Kaban, General Surgery, RGH

Dr. Laura Marshall, Family Medicine, La Ronge

Dr. Hassan Masri, CTU/ICU, RUH

Dr. John Shaw, General Surgery, RUH


Congratulations to all the recipients!



Residents, join us for trivia night!

As part of National Resident Wellness Week, please join us for an evening of fun and friendly competition!

PAIRS is sponsoring a Trivia Night on Thursday, May 26 at Amigo’s Cantina (806 Dufferin Avenue).  This social event is for PAIRS members and their spouses, and will feature free appetizers and refreshments, along with organized rounds of trivia. Teams of four will compete for prizes and trivia supremacy!

Please enter your four-member team by contacting our office.

Doors open: 6:30 pm (back room of Amigo’s)
Trivia begins: 7:30 pm sharp until 9 pm

See you there!